Europe

Europe, a continent with many gay spots

The European continent is one of the most popular destinations for the LGBTQ+ community. As the world’s leading tourist destination, Europe has plenty of arguments to convince you to plan your trip. Whether you want to bask on the beaches of Spain or ski in the mountains of Switzerland, dance the night away in Berlin or take a romantic getaway in Paris, Europe is undoubtedly a popular destination for travellers who want to live a unique experience. Although there are still disparities in LGBTQ+ rights from one country to another, Europe remains a privileged destination for gay customers. Therefore, as an LGBTQ+ travel partner, it is our responsability to offer you “gay-friendly” destinations only.

General information about Europe

Also known as “The Old Continent”, Europe is only as old as its history. What makes its main attraction today is undoubtedly its diversity: many countries, several languages, different cultures and therefore a multitude of facets to be discovered. Its territory offers a wide range of magnificent landscapes, from the mountains to the sea through large expanses of forest. As a recognised cultural centre, Europe is a veritable mosaic of tourist places and museums to visit that you will find in every country you visit.

Currently, there are still wide disparities between European countries in terms of rights for LGBTQ+ people. Generally speaking, the European Union can be seen as a precursor in terms of equal rights legislation. In 2001, the Netherlands became the very first country in the world to have legalized same-sex marriage. Belgium and Spain followed in 2003 and 2005. Currently, in addition to the above, the countries in Europe that have legalized same-sex marriage are: Norway and Sweden in 2009, Portugal and Iceland in 2010, Denmark in 2012, France in 2013, Luxembourg and Ireland in 2015, Malta, Finland and Germany in 2017, Austria in 2019 and Switzerland in 2020. But a lot of work still need to be done, particularly in Eastern Europe. If you want more information about LGBTQ+ rights, please visit Equaldex.

When we talk about Europe, we have to make a distinction between the European continent( which extends from Portugal,in the West, to Russia,in the East, and which is defined by a geographical area), and the European Union or, more broadly, the European Economic Area, which is a grouping of independent states forming an area of free trade and movement. It is this last area that is the most interesting as a traveller, as you can very well arrive in France, continue on to Spain and then end up in Italy without presenting a passport or identity document. Indeed, you will always be in the same traffic area (called “The Schengen Area”) allowing you not to lose time in procedures and visas between each stage of your trip. For more specific information, we invite you to consult the description sheets for each destination.

The currency is the Euro. All major credit cards are accepted. For citizens of the European Union, Switzerland or a member country of the European Economic Area, a national identity card or passport is sufficient.

For travellers coming from Canada (our French speaking readers from Quebec) but also from the USA, Australia, etc. there is an agreement with the EU and you are exempt from visa requirements for stays not exceeding 90 days. However, please note that during 2022, you will have to obtain your ETIAS before your departure. This is an electronic travel authorisation that must be done online before the trip, which will cost €7 and will give access to the Shengen Area. Here is the link for more information: ETIAS.

The best gay destinations in Europe

Gay & Gay-friendly accomodations in Europe

Our latest info on gay travel

  • Gay travel
  • 28 May, 2021

The 25 best gay hotels in Gran Canaria

What’s the best gay hotel in Gran Canaria? Gran Canaria is a very popular destination for European gay customers. Located off the coast of Mauritania, this Spanish territory has a pleasant climate all year round. There are many British, German and Dutch people escaping the cold and humid winters in the north of the continent. […]

  • Gay travel
  • 05 Apr, 2021

100% new, 100% gay – Welcome to Gogenko.com

Gogenko, your new gay travel partner. Proudly. Welcome to Gogenko.com, your LGBTQ+ travel companion. Our idea: to simply provide you with all the gay travel offers and events aimed at the LGBTQ+ community, on a single website. A project that must face up to the pandemic For the record, Gogenko Travels & Events Inc. was […]

Europe

L’Europe, un continent qui rassemble de nombreux hotspots gay

Le continent européen fait partie des destinations les plus plébiscitées par la communauté LGBTQ+. Première destination touristique mondiale, l’Europe ne manque pas d’arguments pour vous convaincre de planifier votre voyage. Se prélasser sur les plages d’Espagne ou faire du ski dans les montagnes de Suisse, danser jusqu’au bout de la nuit à Berlin ou faire une escapade romantique à Paris, l’Europe est sans aucun doute une destination de choix pour tous voyageurs voulant vivre une expérience unique. S’il existe encore des disparités en ce qui concerne les droits LGBTQ+ d’un pays à l’autre, l’Europe reste néanmoins une destination privilégiées par la clientèle gay. C’est donc à nous, à titre de partenaire de voyage LGBTQ+, de vous proposer uniquement des destinations “gay-friendly”.

Informations générales sur l’Europe

Aussi appelé “Le Vieux Continent”, l’Europe n’a d’ancien que son histoire. Ce qui fait aujourd’hui son principal attrait est sans nul doute sa diversité : de nombreux pays, plusieurs langues, différentes cultures et donc une multitude de facettes à découvrir. Son territoire offre une large palette de magnifiques paysages, de la montagne à la mer en passant par de larges étendues de forêt. Centre culturel reconnu, l’Europe est aussi une véritable mosaïque de lieux touristiques et de musées à visiter que vous pourrez retrouver dans chaque pays que vous visiterez.

Actuellement, de fortes disparités existent encore entre les pays européen en matière de droits pour les personnes LGBTQ+. De manière générale, l’Union Européenne peut être considérée comme précurseure en termes de législation en faveur de l’égalité des droits. En 2001, les Pays-Bas sont devenus le tout premier pays du monde à avoir légalisé le mariage pour tous. La Belgique et l’Espagne ont suivi en 2003 et 2005. À l’heure actuelle, en plus de ceux précités, les pays en Europe qui ont légalisés le mariage pour tous sont : la Norvège et la Suède en 2009, le Portugal et l’Islande en 2010, le Danemark en 2012, la France en 2013, le Luxembourg et l’Irlande en 2015, Malte, la Finlande et l’Allemagne en 2017, l’Autriche en 2019 et enfin la Suisse en 2020. Mais il y a encore du travail à faire dans bon nombre de pays, notamment situés en Europe de l’Est. Si vous voulez obtenir plus d’informations au sujet des droits LGBTQ+, nous vous invitons à consulter Equaldex.

Lorsque l’on parle d’Europe, il faut bien faire la différence entre le continent européen, qui s’étend du Portugal à l’Ouest jusqu’à la Russie à l’Est, et qui se définit par une zone géographique, avec l’Union Européenne ou plus largement l’Espace Économique Européen, qui est un regroupement d’états indépendants formant un espace de libre échange et de circulation. C’est ce dernier espace qui est le plus intéressant à titre de voyageur, car vous pourrez très bien arriver en France, continuer en Espagne puis terminer en Italie sans présenter de passeport ou de pièce d’identité. En effet, vous serez toujours dans le même espace de circulation (nommé “Espace Schengen”) vous permettant de ne pas perdre de temps en procédures et visa entre chaque étape de votre voyage. Pour toutes informations plus spécifiques, nous vous invitons à consulter les fiches descriptives de chaque destination.

La monnaie est l’Euro. Toutes les principales cartes bancaires y sont acceptées. Pour les ressortissants de l’Union Européenne, de la Suisse ou d’un pays membre de l’Espace Économique Européen, la carte d’identité nationale ou le passeport suffit.

Pour les voyageurs venant du Canada (nos lecteurs francophone du Québec) mais aussi des USA, d’Australie, etc. il y a un accord avec l’UE et vous êtes exempté de visa pour tous séjours ne dépassant pas 90 jours. Attention cependant courant 2022, il va falloir obtenir avant votre départ votre ETIAS. Il s’agit d’une autorisation de voyage électronique qu’il faudra faire en ligne avant le voyage, qui coûtera 7€ et qui donnera accès à l’espace Schengen. Voici le lien pour plus d’informations : ETIAS.

Les meilleures destinations gay en Europe

Hébergements gay et gay-friendly partout en Europe

Nos dernières infos sur le voyage gay

  • Voyage gay
  • 28 Mai, 2021

Les 25 meilleurs hôtels gay à Gran Canaria

Quel est le meilleur hôtel gay à Gran Canaria ? Gran Canaria est une destination très prisée par la clientèle gay européenne. Territoire espagnol situé au large de la Mauritanie, son climat est agréable tout au long de l’année. On y retrouve de nombreux britanniques, allemands ou encore hollandais qui fuient les hivers froids et […]

  • Voyage gay
  • 05 Avr, 2021

100% neuf, 100% gay – Bienvenue sur Gogenko.com

Gogenko, votre nouveau partenaire de voyage gay. Fièrement. Bienvenue sur Gogenko.com, votre compagnon de voyage LGBTQ+. Notre idée : vous proposer simplement et sur un seul site internet, toutes les offres de voyage gay et tous les évènements dédiés à la communauté LGBTQ+. Un projet qui doit faire face à la pandémie Pour la petite […]